Better than adblocking

Just jumping on the adblocking yea/nay blogging train: I don’t block ads. I could but I don’t bother. Most of the time they don’t bother me unless I’m trying to read a long article, at which point I use Readability, which is infinitely better than an adblocker for that situation.

Before Readability
before-readability

After Readability
after-readability

Note: Readability runs fine on Minefield if you use Nightly Tester Tools to force-install. There’s also a bookmarklet version if you don’t want to install an add-on.

3 thoughts on “Better than adblocking

  1. thanks a lot, I didn’t know that an addon existed for it. I was aware of the bookmarklet but it did not fit my current minimalist (for screen estate) firefox set up.

  2. I don’t block ads either. I *do* use NoScript which blocks annoying flash ads.

    I don’t mind non-annoying text/image ads though, I even click on them occasionally if the content looks interesting / relevant.

Leave a Reply

