1-800-GOT-JUNK?

Every once in a while the manic side of my personality meshes directly with the obsessive-compulsive side and I end up going on an epic cleaning/decluttering/furniture-rearranging binge. One such binge is just hitting the “winding down” stages, and all-in-all it has caused a complete reworking of the bedroom/office/loft, front hall, back hall, and storage space. Not bad for 2 days work (with 2-3 lazier days of reassembling left, but that’s relatively minor).

Part of this great whirlwind of activity included getting rid of a lot of old junk and clutter that was just making me generally crazy. It included two old mismatched and crappy dressers (being replaced by new, matching, less-crappy dressers), an old tv stand, my 10 year old crappy computer chair (and good riddance to that back-destroying monstrosity), an old table, 2 19″ CRT monitors (the last CRTs in the house, huzzah!), 4 (four, count ’em) large rubbermaid bins full of random computer cables and peripherals, a broken vacuum cleaner, several boxes of old magazines, etc etc etc. Essentially, the accumulated detritus of a slightly (and somewhat shamefully) over-consumptive lifestyle.

Initially the idea was that we would rent a van, pile it full of junk, then drive around to the various charities, recycling centres, and junk depots and dispose of it in as reasonable and responsible a way as possible. After scheduling the van, however, I was watching HGTV and saw, yet again, a big blue 1-800-GOT-JUNK truck on Holmes on Homes (I’m an unapologetic renovation show junkie). Curious, I Googled, read, read some more, did some research, checked prices, and, without leaving the comfort of my browser, booked an appointment.

1-800-GOT-JUNK?

Here’s how the whole thing unfolded:

  1. Sunday afternoon – I book an appointment on the website for “Tuesday 3:00-5:00p”. The site explains that someone will be onsite during that time to start the job and they will phone me 30-45 mins before showing up.
  2. Tuesday 3:15pm – I get a call from the GOT JUNK guys. They explain they’ll be here in 30-45 mins.
  3. Tuesday 3:50pm – They arrive, come inside, take a look at the pile of crap we’re having them haul away, and give me an estimate – 2 guys, 20 mins, $360 (or something like that). I say “OK” and they get started.
  4. Tuesday 4:45pm – Obviously they underestimated the time, but they finish up. They return my key (front door autolocks – pita), explain that they managed to compact my junk more than they thought, and that the total is only $285. Delighted, I give them a credit card and a few minutes later, they depart.
  5. The End.

Not only did they show up on time and finish quickly and below their estimate, 1-800-GOT-JUNK recycles or donates anything that can be recycled or donated, assuaging my yuppie guilt. On top of all of that it turns out that they’re one of the best companies to work for in the country (their HQ is based in Vancouver and they have 280+ franchises). Really, I cannot recommend this service highly enough. If you have crap around your house that you need to get rid of, these are the folks to call.

5 stars. A+. Worth every penny.

9 thoughts on “1-800-GOT-JUNK?

  1. Hey, that’s cool that they recycle what can be. I guess it makes sense from a business perspective since it costs money to put stuff in the dump. I dealt with them before and it was a pleasant experience. Though I regretted it in the end because it was all “real” junk from renovations (plaster, lathe, etc) and I found out after-the-fact that it would have actually been cheaper to rent a roll-off-bin. And I’ve have had the opportunity to dispose of considerably more garbage for the same price.

  2. Hey, that’s cool that they recycle what can be. I guess it makes sense from a business perspective since it costs money to put stuff in the dump. I dealt with them before and it was a pleasant experience. Though I regretted it in the end because it was all “real” junk from renovations (plaster, lathe, etc) and I found out after-the-fact that it would have actually been cheaper to rent a roll-off-bin. And I’ve have had the opportunity to dispose of considerably more garbage for the same price.

  3. I hired the 1-800-GOT-JUNK? in my local area in Portsmouth, NH for junk removal and they were excellent. I highly recommend them to anyone that has junk.

  4. I hired the 1-800-GOT-JUNK? in my local area in Portsmouth, NH for junk removal and they were excellent. I highly recommend them to anyone that has junk.

Leave a Reply

