Global knives

A couple of weeks ago I decided to indulge in a couple of new knives for cooking. I’ve been using a 9in Henckel chef’s knife for several years, but I’ve never been thrilled with its weight how it holds an edge, so I was hoping to find a knife that’s lighter and generally sharper (ideally requiring less maintenance to maintain that edge).

After extensive research (we’re talkin’ several days of intense internetting here), I settled upon Global knives — specifically the Global 8in cook’s knife and the Global 4in paring knife.

Global 8in cook's knife

Not only are these knives lighter and far more comfortable than my old knives, they’re also insanely sharp. I am so absolutely thrilled with them that I’ve started telling all my friends to get them as well. The best part? I paid a mere $90 cdn for the 8in and $50 for the paring knife. They’re an absolute joy to use, the result being that I’ve been cooking more — dumplings, stirfries, soups, guacamole — basically anything that requires relatively intensive knife use.

Tomorrow I’m going to make some beef and cabbage dumplings, I think (chop chop), and a chicken soup (using up the leftover roast chicken from tonight). Double yum.

4 thoughts on “Global knives

  1. I’ve been very happy with this knife:

    http://www.leevalley.com/garden/page.aspx?c=1&p=52770&cat=2,40733,40738

    I have had it for almost two years and it is only now beginning to show signs of needing a bit of sharpening. It is also extremely affordable at less than $25. It slices through ripe tomatoes like a dream!

    I’ve tried a fairly wide variety of knives over the last 10 years, but after trying carbon steel it is really hard to find a conventional knife that works as well for me.

  2. I’ve been very happy with this knife:http://www.leevalley.com/garden/page.aspx?c=1&a…I have had it for almost two years and it is only now beginning to show signs of needing a bit of sharpening. It is also extremely affordable at less than $25. It slices through ripe tomatoes like a dream!I’ve tried a fairly wide variety of knives over the last 10 years, but after trying carbon steel it is really hard to find a conventional knife that works as well for me.

  3. Yes, it’s the carbon steel in the Lee Valley knife which makes it so good. Carbon steel takes a better edge and keeps it longer than stainless. But it’s hard to find these days as everyone has switched to stainless.

  4. Yes, it’s the carbon steel in the Lee Valley knife which makes it so good. Carbon steel takes a better edge and keeps it longer than stainless. But it’s hard to find these days as everyone has switched to stainless.

Leave a Reply

