A new favourite Firefox add-on

I have a Firefox add-on I cannot live without: Faviconize Tab. It’s simple, tiny (7k), and with session restore makes my life much easier and more productive. It seems too good to be true, but I’m serious. The basic funtionality of this add-on is that it lets you to right-click on a Firefox tab and shrink it down to just the size of the favicon. Simple, convenient, awesome.

Here’s a screenshot (note, tab colors are provided by Chromatabs):



The four favicon-sized tabs on the left come up every time I open my browser because I have specified the “When Firefox starts: Show my windows and tabs from last time” option in the “Main” section of my Firefox preferences. These tabs are: my Gmail account, my work-mail account, my Remember the Milk task list, and a web forum I visit frequently. Since these faviconized tabs have no close buttons, they’re always open, always in that order at that side of my tab bar, and have simply become part of my regular browsing experience.

I love it. I can skim through my email, task list, and forum without having to dig around for bookmarks, and because the tabs are so tiny they never get in my way. I’ve been using it for months and Faviconize Tabs has definitely made my “must have” add-ons list.

8 thoughts on “A new favourite Firefox add-on

  1. Hmmm, I need a task manager so went to Remember the Milk, but when I saw this :

    Which Looks Right
    14/02/06 02/14/06

    I just said to myself “neither, you stupid american yutz. Try an ISO format.” And just moved on.

    Sigh. I’m so narrow-minded about some things.

    BTW, have you noticed how computer people never learn anything? I blogged about this recently somewhere else. Y2K? What was that? Gee, maybe if we used 4-digit years we wouldn’t get confused about dates!

    /sorry for ranting on your blog

  2. Hmmm, I need a task manager so went to Remember the Milk, but when I saw this :Which Looks Right 14/02/06 02/14/06 I just said to myself “neither, you stupid american yutz. Try an ISO format.” And just moved on.Sigh. I’m so narrow-minded about some things. BTW, have you noticed how computer people never learn anything? I blogged about this recently somewhere else. Y2K? What was that? Gee, maybe if we used 4-digit years we wouldn’t get confused about dates!/sorry for ranting on your blog

Leave a Reply

