links for 2006-12-16

2 thoughts on “links for 2006-12-16

  1. Being on my second Nikon DSLR (a D200), I’ve been encountering Ken’s site semi-regularly over the last couple of years, but the more time passes, the more far-fetched his opinions and technology predictions seem to get (which is undoubtedly due more to me learning than to him going off into the deep end, as I remember people already voicing the same opinions when I just got started). 🙂 For one, I’m really glad I’ve never followed his advice not to shoot in RAW. JPG is more than fine for 95% of my shots, but I’ve found the wasted space more than worth it every single time I hit one of those 5% cases. (Just white-balance tweaking by itself would be worth it, so I can focus on getting the shot, rather than worrying if I changed back the white-balance.)

    I’d recommend Thom Hogan – http://www.bythom.com/ – for some more measured and not quite as strongly opinionated Nikon talk. (Even if he’s forever lusting after lenses Nikon is never going to make.) 🙂

  2. Being on my second Nikon DSLR (a D200), I’ve been encountering Ken’s site semi-regularly over the last couple of years, but the more time passes, the more far-fetched his opinions and technology predictions seem to get (which is undoubtedly due more to me learning than to him going off into the deep end, as I remember people already voicing the same opinions when I just got started). 🙂 For one, I’m really glad I’ve never followed his advice not to shoot in RAW. JPG is more than fine for 95% of my shots, but I’ve found the wasted space more than worth it every single time I hit one of those 5% cases. (Just white-balance tweaking by itself would be worth it, so I can focus on getting the shot, rather than worrying if I changed back the white-balance.)I’d recommend Thom Hogan – http://www.bythom.com/ – for some more measured and not quite as strongly opinionated Nikon talk. (Even if he’s forever lusting after lenses Nikon is never going to make.) 🙂

Leave a Reply

