New TV! (no spoilers)

Quick rundown of the new TV season, in no particular order:

  • Heroes – Just watched the second episode. Love it. I started reading comic books when I was a kid and have always loved ’em. This TV show holds huge promise and potential. Great characters.
  • Studio 60 – Meh. Barely made it through the first episode, won’t be going back.
  • Shark – It’s like House M.D. only with lawyers. And lousy acting. And terrible, terrible writing. I basically dislike every single character in the show.
  • CSI – Grissom remains my favourite CSI in all three shows. This is top of my “gritty crime drama” list, and seems to be holding up well. (Yes, I know it’s all ridiculous and not at all like real life, but I don’t care…I still like it.)
  • CSI: NY – This show continues to grow on me, and I like the characters a lot. Good stuff.
  • CSI: Miami – Honestly, I’m not sure who watches this any more. Just watched this week’s episode and literally laughed out loud at the new transitions and other random effects. I won’t be bothering with this series any more.
  • L&O: CI – No more Vincent D’Onofrio, so my interest is waning. They’ve replaced everyone on the show except Chris Noth, who was great when he was in the original L&O but doesn’t seem to be able to carry a show on his own. They may have jumped the shark by losing too many characters between seasons.
  • Numb3rs – I like this show a lot even tho the math is apparently “questionable” at best. I don’t care. I’ve never really been much for math (even tho I use it “every day!”) so that stuff is mostly just gibberish to me. I like the characters (although Charlie’s getting on my nerves a bit). They seem to be concentrating more on the FBI parts and less on the dorky math parts this season, which is good. And yes, I like the silly bits at the end where the Eps family gets all quippy.
  • House M.D. – Yes it’s a little formulaic, but I still like it a bunch. Good characters, usually interesting medical mysteries, fun sub-plots. Not stellar, by any means, but still several thousand times better than any given reality show.
  • The Unit – Just started watching season 1, but it’s good and I’m glad it’s made it to a second season already. So far it seems like a strange cross between The A-Team and Desperate Housewives or something, but that’s OK by me.
  • LOST – I’m beside myself with anticipation for Wednesday’s season opener. Eeeeee! Hurley! Yay! I love this show and I’m not even sure why. Just…awesome, even when at its most ridiculous.
  • Battlestar Galactica – Also hasn’t started yet, but it remains the best science fiction TV series of all time. I’m getting the itch to buy the original BSG series on DVD and watch it, because apparently there are lots of little bits of continuity that have been carried over, and that’s cool. Absolutely “must watch” TV.

That’s pretty much all I’ve seen (or will soon see) this season. There’s more TV worth watching than I have time for, but that’s not a bad problem to have.

12 thoughts on “New TV! (no spoilers)

  1. I just read something about Heroes in the Metro (free newspaper) today, and think I’d probably like it. But not having TV means I’ll have to wait for it to come out on DVD.

  2. p.s. we got a DVD out of a package of MW popcorn that has an episode each of 4 (or 6?) different TV shows on it, and one of them was House. Though I found it reasonably good, it seemed to me to be pretty hyper-dramatic and therefore quite unreasonable. At every possible point it seemed it took the least probabably yet most dramatic turn. A little bit too much.

    One of those DVDs we got from the popcorn also had a Battlestar episode on it, and I don’t quite get it to be honest. It seems to be fairly different from the original TV series with all this jumping or whatever they call it every 26 hours or however long it is. And it seemed a bit too negative for my liking – counting the number of human beings, and the number forever declining with each “jump”. Maybe it was just a crappy episode, I dunno. But based on that one I wouldn’t go out of my way to watch it again (and haven’t even watched that one a 2nd time, and I’m a major sci-fi weenie). As for whether or not it’s the best sci-fi available today, I guess I don’t really have anything to compare it to. Doesn’t say much for the rest of the selection, though. At least that one episode.

  3. I just read something about Heroes in the Metro (free newspaper) today, and think I’d probably like it. But not having TV means I’ll have to wait for it to come out on DVD.

  4. p.s. we got a DVD out of a package of MW popcorn that has an episode each of 4 (or 6?) different TV shows on it, and one of them was House. Though I found it reasonably good, it seemed to me to be pretty hyper-dramatic and therefore quite unreasonable. At every possible point it seemed it took the least probabably yet most dramatic turn. A little bit too much.One of those DVDs we got from the popcorn also had a Battlestar episode on it, and I don’t quite get it to be honest. It seems to be fairly different from the original TV series with all this jumping or whatever they call it every 26 hours or however long it is. And it seemed a bit too negative for my liking – counting the number of human beings, and the number forever declining with each “jump”. Maybe it was just a crappy episode, I dunno. But based on that one I wouldn’t go out of my way to watch it again (and haven’t even watched that one a 2nd time, and I’m a major sci-fi weenie). As for whether or not it’s the best sci-fi available today, I guess I don’t really have anything to compare it to. Doesn’t say much for the rest of the selection, though. At least that one episode.

  5. I was away on business last week and decided to flick the TV on in the hotel room and presto! it was 5 minutes in to Heroes. I really liked the episode and will definitely pick up the first season on DVD when it becomes available.

  6. I was away on business last week and decided to flick the TV on in the hotel room and presto! it was 5 minutes in to Heroes. I really liked the episode and will definitely pick up the first season on DVD when it becomes available.

  7. Heroes is good. I’m starting to get tired of the lack of answers on Lost. If they don’t start answering at least as many questions as they ask in each episode, things are going to get old pretty soon.

    I like Studio 60 and am disappointed that it’s likely to be canceled shortly.

    CSI is awesome. CSI:NY is getting better; the first season sucked, but once they lightened up a bit, it got better. CSI:Miami is like watching a continuous series of shark jumps.

    BSG rocks; I’ve not watched last week’s episode (the second of the season, IIRC) yet but will later tonight. L&O:CI is good; as far as I can tell, Vincent D’Onofrio is still on it though. They’re just alternating between two casts each week. I like the new captain, although I miss Jamey Sheridan, too.

    Numb3rs is my wife’s favorite show, and high on my list as well.

  8. Heroes is good. I’m starting to get tired of the lack of answers on Lost. If they don’t start answering at least as many questions as they ask in each episode, things are going to get old pretty soon.I like Studio 60 and am disappointed that it’s likely to be canceled shortly.CSI is awesome. CSI:NY is getting better; the first season sucked, but once they lightened up a bit, it got better. CSI:Miami is like watching a continuous series of shark jumps.BSG rocks; I’ve not watched last week’s episode (the second of the season, IIRC) yet but will later tonight. L&O:CI is good; as far as I can tell, Vincent D’Onofrio is still on it though. They’re just alternating between two casts each week. I like the new captain, although I miss Jamey Sheridan, too.Numb3rs is my wife’s favorite show, and high on my list as well.

  9. Yeah Studio 60 has actually grown on me now, and makes Mondays a two-show night (like I have time for that). I hope it doesn’t get cancelled now…it’s actually really well written. I think the first episode I saw was just a bad intro.

  10. Yeah Studio 60 has actually grown on me now, and makes Mondays a two-show night (like I have time for that). I hope it doesn’t get cancelled now…it’s actually really well written. I think the first episode I saw was just a bad intro.

  11. The intro was sluggish. It was all set-up and no content. It picked up pretty quickly after that. Maybe too late though…

  12. The intro was sluggish. It was all set-up and no content. It picked up pretty quickly after that. Maybe too late though…

Leave a Reply

