Looking for a photo-sharing system

I’m looking for the simplest possible way to upload, organize, and share my photos. I’ve tried Gallery2 and it’s OK, but I’m wondering if there’s something better out there. I’ve looked at both Flickr and Smugmug, but their UI and visual design just annoy me enough that I’m not really interested in using them.

General requirements: bulk upload from a Mac (ideally with iPhoto integration), must be Firefox friendly, the less Flash the better, autogeneration of resized photos and customizable thumbnail sizes, no upload limit (either per picture or total), reasonable bandwidth limits are OK, pay-for-service is OK, customizable themes would be ideal, proven reliable service would be nice, solid customer service track record would also be good.

I get the feeling I’m going to just stick with Gallery2.

38 thoughts on “Looking for a photo-sharing system

  1. I’ve been looking for the same thing, although I was going to find one with a good API that I could then write an extension for flock that would use our uploader. (my personal goal is to have connect to at least 1″gpl” service for each web service we talk with).

    unfortunately I’ve not found anything else in my research, but will let you know if I find anything.

    regarding pay services I was debating putting together something based on amazon s3… it can be fast and cheap.

  2. I’m using Flickr, w/ the unofficial Flickr uploader tool for Mac OS X, and then FAlbum plugin for WordPress. Flickr’s been improved a bunch lately and all the other stuff around it (all the unofficial stuff) makes it more palatable.

  3. I’ve been looking for the same thing, although I was going to find one with a good API that I could then write an extension for flock that would use our uploader. (my personal goal is to have connect to at least 1″gpl” service for each web service we talk with). unfortunately I’ve not found anything else in my research, but will let you know if I find anything.regarding pay services I was debating putting together something based on amazon s3… it can be fast and cheap.

  4. I ended up opting for Gallery2 too; I wasn’t really happy handing over my photos to a third party like Flickr.

    Gallery2 was fairly straightforward to install for a technical person and the UI is passable. What I really want is a solution to mass file upload from within a browser, something I think the WHATWG folks should address.

  5. I’m using Flickr, w/ the unofficial Flickr uploader tool for Mac OS X, and then FAlbum plugin for WordPress. Flickr’s been improved a bunch lately and all the other stuff around it (all the unofficial stuff) makes it more palatable.

  6. I ended up opting for Gallery2 too; I wasn’t really happy handing over my photos to a third party like Flickr.Gallery2 was fairly straightforward to install for a technical person and the UI is passable. What I really want is a solution to mass file upload from within a browser, something I think the WHATWG folks should address.

  7. picasa now has a web component that’s in beta w/integration to the picasa client. I don’t know if there’s Mac support yet, but its pretty stratighforward and sports the usual google-ish minimalist but effective UI

  8. picasa now has a web component that’s in beta w/integration to the picasa client. I don’t know if there’s Mac support yet, but its pretty stratighforward and sports the usual google-ish minimalist but effective UI

  9. I use Realmac Software’s RapidWeaver to do my daughter’s web site, including a large number of photo gallery pages (one for each month). It lets you create a page that will automatically contain all the photos from a given iPhoto album, with customizable thumbnail and photo sizes, imports the comments from iPhoto, and so forth.

    http://www.realmacsoftware.com/rapidweaver/

  10. I use Realmac Software’s RapidWeaver to do my daughter’s web site, including a large number of photo gallery pages (one for each month). It lets you create a page that will automatically contain all the photos from a given iPhoto album, with customizable thumbnail and photo sizes, imports the comments from iPhoto, and so forth.http://www.realmacsoftware.com/rapidweaver/

  11. I think I was the one commenter way back when that suggested Gallery/Gallery2 and while I still like them I think that the Drupal photo album is a better way to go. The drawback of Gallery is that it is only a Gallery. Drupal you can have a relatively full featured gallery that is themable, but you also get a blog and comments and forums and…whatever you want (but only if you want/enable it). Using the Image Pub module (http://drupal.org/node/63154 ) there is support for the Gallery Remote API which allows you to use Gallery Remote (java mass uploading tool) among others including the iPhotoToGallery tool.

  12. I think I was the one commenter way back when that suggested Gallery/Gallery2 and while I still like them I think that the Drupal photo album is a better way to go. The drawback of Gallery is that it is only a Gallery. Drupal you can have a relatively full featured gallery that is themable, but you also get a blog and comments and forums and…whatever you want (but only if you want/enable it). Using the Image Pub module (http://drupal.org/node/63154 ) there is support for the Gallery Remote API which allows you to use Gallery Remote (java mass uploading tool) among others including the iPhotoToGallery tool.

  13. Heh, sure. When I have something set up that I like and plan to keep, I’ll post a note 🙂

    Zenphoto looks pretty cool, but I really haven’t had much time to look into this more. Maybe over the weekend.

  14. Heh, sure. When I have something set up that I like and plan to keep, I’ll post a note :)Zenphoto looks pretty cool, but I really haven’t had much time to look into this more. Maybe over the weekend.

  15. Hey Deb,

    I like flikr fine for what it is. I mostly use a crappy eight-year-old homegrown ksh/ImageMagick hack that cranks out perfectly functional-if-unadorned pre-css html.

    I’m either lame or way oldschool. It’s a fine line.

  16. Hey Deb,I like flikr fine for what it is. I mostly use a crappy eight-year-old homegrown ksh/ImageMagick hack that cranks out perfectly functional-if-unadorned pre-css html.I’m either lame or way oldschool. It’s a fine line.

Leave a Reply

