Meat

Rob wanted to go driving around in his new car today, so I conned him into taking me to Costco. At Costco I took bodenstaz‘s advice and picked up a FoodSaver™ vacuum sealer appliance thingy and an extra box of FoodSaver™ freezer baggie thingies. (Note: until just this second I didn’t realize there were about 800000 different FoodSaver™ products…)

Then we hit the Costco Meat Department, where I basically lost my mind. Keeping in mind our limited freezer space (one standard fridge’s worth), I picked up 12 chicken breast (Lilydale!), 10 huge 1.5″ thick cut boneless porkchops, 4 huge pork tenderloin, 2 massive racks of babyback ribs, and three thick ribeye steaks. For an idea of the prices, the 10 porkchops cost $17.

Seventeen dollars!

Anyhow, we’ve got a lot of meat now, and it’s all nicely sealed up and chillin’ in the freezer (except the steaks — those are for tonight with a nice caesar salad and some boiled potatoes with butter). Yum.

Meat! Lots and lots of inexpensive meat! Yay!

12 thoughts on “Meat

  1. Hee, hee, my work here is done 🙂

    liss76 just got a big load of chicken and pork there friday, actually, and just sealed it up for the freezer earlier today.

    We get our beef from a local farmer if you are interested. Though the min order is about 2.5 milk crates full which will fill 1/3 to 1/2 a regular fridge freezer. It’s from a guy I used to work with but who got out of high tech to farm. He does 4 slaughters a year. Local farm-raised beef is pretty incredible taste-wise compared to your supermarket grade.

    To give you an idea of cost, here are details of a few previous orders. It’s a bit more expensive now but not much :

    http://www.neap.net/2003-05-beef.html
    http://www.neap.net/2004-04-beef.html

  2. Hee, hee, my work here is done :-)liss76 just got a big load of chicken and pork there friday, actually, and just sealed it up for the freezer earlier today.We get our beef from a local farmer if you are interested. Though the min order is about 2.5 milk crates full which will fill 1/3 to 1/2 a regular fridge freezer. It’s from a guy I used to work with but who got out of high tech to farm. He does 4 slaughters a year. Local farm-raised beef is pretty incredible taste-wise compared to your supermarket grade. To give you an idea of cost, here are details of a few previous orders. It’s a bit more expensive now but not much :http://www.neap.net/2003-05-beef.htmlhttp://www.neap.net/2004-04-beef.html

  3. that’s pretty wicked, though we’d have a hard time dealing with that quantity of beef on a given sunday. Our freezer is chock-full of stuff right now!

    Also, I am full of beef. *burp*

  4. that’s pretty wicked, though we’d have a hard time dealing with that quantity of beef on a given sunday. Our freezer is chock-full of stuff right now!Also, I am full of beef. *burp*

  5. I *love* my foodsaver. I too do the purchase lots and lots of meat and seal it. As long as you don’t put the bags in the microwave, you can toss them in the dishwasher and reuse them to help save some money as well. Wal-Mart (at least in the Pittsburgh and DC areas) also has a generic bag roll for much cheaper than foodsaver brand ones. Unfortunately, I’ve only ever seen them in 8″ rolls, and I like the 11″ rolls in my food saver.

  6. I *love* my foodsaver. I too do the purchase lots and lots of meat and seal it. As long as you don’t put the bags in the microwave, you can toss them in the dishwasher and reuse them to help save some money as well. Wal-Mart (at least in the Pittsburgh and DC areas) also has a generic bag roll for much cheaper than foodsaver brand ones. Unfortunately, I’ve only ever seen them in 8″ rolls, and I like the 11″ rolls in my food saver.

  7. Walmart is a good source of cheap brand-name bags. And yeah, we put them through the dishwasher. It can be a challenge to figure out ways to get them to stay in place, but wedging them between 2 plates works well.

  8. Walmart is a good source of cheap brand-name bags. And yeah, we put them through the dishwasher. It can be a challenge to figure out ways to get them to stay in place, but wedging them between 2 plates works well.

  9. BTW, Loblaw’s in Westboro was clearing out Foodsaver brand bags about a month ago – everything for half price. Not sure if they still have any but we bought a lot at the time.

  10. BTW, Loblaw’s in Westboro was clearing out Foodsaver brand bags about a month ago – everything for half price. Not sure if they still have any but we bought a lot at the time.

  11. Too funny–I was just coming buy to add “foodsaver” to your kitchen gadgets wishlist! :oD

    Something I really enjoy using it for is preparing meals ahead. If I’m making cannelloni, I’ll triple the batch and do some in aluminum baking trays, freeze it (to solidify the sauce) and then seal the whole thing in the largest size bag.

    I did a Costco run last week–pork loin was $5 off/tray and I got 8 luscious pieces and made pork vindaloo. Yummmmm..

    This past summer, I went wild with the sealer and bought lots of fruit at the market–sealing them in 1 cup portions for smoothies and baking. Well worth the effort!

  12. Too funny–I was just coming buy to add “foodsaver” to your kitchen gadgets wishlist! :oDSomething I really enjoy using it for is preparing meals ahead. If I’m making cannelloni, I’ll triple the batch and do some in aluminum baking trays, freeze it (to solidify the sauce) and then seal the whole thing in the largest size bag. I did a Costco run last week–pork loin was $5 off/tray and I got 8 luscious pieces and made pork vindaloo. Yummmmm..This past summer, I went wild with the sealer and bought lots of fruit at the market–sealing them in 1 cup portions for smoothies and baking. Well worth the effort!

Leave a Reply

