Today’s Links

2 thoughts on “Today’s Links

  1. Potstickers. Dumplings. I’m seeing a definite trend here! And I like it!

    Back in university I studied Russian for a few years, and every year we had “Vjetchjerinka” – or “Russian Night”. One year I and a fellow student cooked Borscht and Perogies for 125 people, based on recipes from her Babushka. Here’s the perogy recipe we used :

    Dough :
    – 2 cups flour
    – 1 large egg
    – 1/2 tsp salt
    – 1/3 to 1/2 cup water

    Filling #1 :
    – 1 cup dry cottage cheese
    – 1/2 tsp salt
    – 1/2 tsp pepper
    – 1 tbsp chives

    Filling #2 :
    – 1 tsp grated onion
    – 2 tsp butter
    – 2 cups cold mashed potatoes
    – 1 cup grated cheddar

    I don’t have details on how we put them together, but I think any basic potsticker recipe will do. All I can say is it must have been pretty easy if I did it back then 😉

  2. Potstickers. Dumplings. I’m seeing a definite trend here! And I like it!Back in university I studied Russian for a few years, and every year we had “Vjetchjerinka” – or “Russian Night”. One year I and a fellow student cooked Borscht and Perogies for 125 people, based on recipes from her Babushka. Here’s the perogy recipe we used :Dough :- 2 cups flour- 1 large egg- 1/2 tsp salt- 1/3 to 1/2 cup waterFilling #1 :- 1 cup dry cottage cheese- 1/2 tsp salt- 1/2 tsp pepper- 1 tbsp chivesFilling #2 :- 1 tsp grated onion- 2 tsp butter- 2 cups cold mashed potatoes- 1 cup grated cheddarI don’t have details on how we put them together, but I think any basic potsticker recipe will do. All I can say is it must have been pretty easy if I did it back then 😉

Leave a Reply

