I want to play D&D

More specifically, I want to DM a campaign. I want to create the world, the pantheon, the maps. I want to craft the realms, the political intrigue, the new rules of play, new classes, new languages, skill modfications, feats. I want to create modules on top of all of this, dozens of them, with the maps and monsters and tricks and traps and treasure. I want to run the game on a set schedule — once per week, six to eight hours of play, with pizza and beer.

I miss pencil and paper roleplaying a lot. From those games came my strongest friendships and some of the most indelible memories of my gaming life. Computer games don’t even come close. But running a regular game with people my age (mid-30s) is a scheduling nightmare. It’s just not possible, particularly given that my friends are scattered across a half-dozen timezones.

Bah.

4 thoughts on “I want to play D&D

  1. I get together every other Sunday in chat to play a campaign we’ve had going on for four or five years now. We use a free (as in beer) whiteboard to sketch out battles and do our thing. Great fun.

  2. I get together every other Sunday in chat to play a campaign we’ve had going on for four or five years now. We use a free (as in beer) whiteboard to sketch out battles and do our thing. Great fun.

Leave a Reply

