D&D Geeking + Illustrator = Map-maker Heaven

This desire to play D&D again isn’t a really recent thing. I’ve been thinking about it on and off for a few months now, which is one of the reasons I cleaned out the storage space last weekend (my D&D books + dice were in a box in there, buried behind a bunch of other stuff).

Last night I decided to see if I could figure out how to draw maps with Illustrator, since, really, drawing maps on graph paper with a pencil is so…20th century. Several hours of fiddling later, and here are the results (no scale, no legend…I’m still fiddling):

Or see the big version.

For what it’s worth, this is (theoretically) a map of Perrowaithe, a largish island continent (probably a third of the size of Australia) that is home to seven kingdoms, the great port city of Hav’non, a pantheon of 42 gods, and roughly 12,000 years of civilised history. Among other things. I first dreamed up Perrowaithe probably 15 years ago, and, well…I’ve got about 300 pages of handwritten notes and maps about it in a filebox here. Yes, I’ve been a nerd for a really long time.

I say “theoretically” because I actually have other ideas for this particular map now that I’ve drawn it, but we’ll see.

What a silly fun way to spend a chunk of the weekend. šŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “D&D Geeking + Illustrator = Map-maker Heaven

  1. Rehpic digs through Multiverse developer beta submissions and notices that there is no entry for Perrowaithe.

    By the way, in the submission you did make, you get 10 points off for a spelling error. šŸ™‚

    –Rehpic

  2. Rehpic digs through Multiverse developer beta submissions and notices that there is no entry for Perrowaithe.By the way, in the submission you did make, you get 10 points off for a spelling error. šŸ™‚ –Rehpic

  3. Very cool. I'm a D&D vet of 20+ years, myself. I'm glad to hear people are coming back to the game (not 4.0), instead of thinking of it as devil worship like back in THE days. your map and illistrator have promise! Glad to know you kept your notes, too.

Leave a Reply

