On Libraries

This morning, a friend pointed me at The Complete Penguin Classic Library, now available at Amazon.com, for the low-low price of $7989.99 USD. (You save: $5,327.75!)

While the $8000.00 price tag (plus shipping costs, plus good luck finding shelf space) is outrageous, the book list itself is not. There are a huge number of books on that list that I really should read (or reread in many cases). So later today I’m going to go to the Sunnyside branch of the Ottawa Public Library to get a library card. This is something I’ve been planning on doing for a few weeks, because I’m finally tired of paying for books I will read once every 10 years.

The Sunnyside library is a relatively short walk (or very short bus ride) down Bank, across the street from an excellent Thai restaurant. With the OPL catalogue online, I believe (and will verify later) that I can can use the online system to request any book from any branch of the library and have that book sent to my local branch. This is a very interesting and useful thing. I’m not sure why I expected libraries to still be stuck in the pre-internet era, but…I did. What a pleasant surprise.

Leave a Reply

