Dear Lazyweb…on Photo Web software

I’m in search of software that will allow me to quickly and easily post photos — with thumbnails, thumbnail pages, captions, and ideally a user-comment facility — to the web, only hosted on a private, self-administered server. Think “flickr” or “.mac + iPhoto”, only without having to entrust your photos to someone else.

How about (this would work, too) something like Pixelpost, only with catalogue pages that will display clickable thumbnails for a whole month. Something like that would be sweet. Like candy.

I’m starting to think I might just have to suck it up and build it myself, but if you happen to know of software that does stuff like this, please post a comment here. Note 1: I have a Mac desktop and a Linux server, so whatever it is has to run on that. Thanks! Note 2: If you happen to know of a WordPress plugin that does something roughly like what I’m describing here, please post a url.

2 thoughts on “Dear Lazyweb…on Photo Web software

  1. I use Gallery which does most of what you are talking about http://gallery.menalto.com

    Gallery Remote (Java) allows some remote administration/upload of files, but if you just enable and use the applet on the site to upload the files that works pretty well too. It doesn’t include a “group thumbnails by month” but you could create that by putting all photos into albums by month. I put my photos into albums based on event since I tend to take lots of photos at a given event (vacation, holiday, etc.) but with gallery2 it should be relatively simple to create your own php search page of the Gallery database that uses the built in EXIF stuff to get the capture/create/something date and then display them by month.

    How’s that for some lazyweb?

  2. I use Gallery which does most of what you are talking about http://gallery.menalto.comGallery Remote (Java) allows some remote administration/upload of files, but if you just enable and use the applet on the site to upload the files that works pretty well too. It doesn’t include a “group thumbnails by month” but you could create that by putting all photos into albums by month. I put my photos into albums based on event since I tend to take lots of photos at a given event (vacation, holiday, etc.) but with gallery2 it should be relatively simple to create your own php search page of the Gallery database that uses the built in EXIF stuff to get the capture/create/something date and then display them by month.How’s that for some lazyweb?

Leave a Reply

