On Widgets

So, the widget world is slowly starting to produce stuff worth having. For example, I’m writing this entry (largely as a test) using the RapidMetaBlog widget. Only lets you file entries under a single category at a time, but that’s not a huge issue. Looks ok. The Preview pane is sorta cool.

In other news, I’m thinking about subscribing to flickr. You can check out my free account (with all 8 photos!) if you like. From what I’ve seen, flickr is pretty good for features, including funky stuff like an iPhoto plugin (third party), email-from-phone facilities, RSS feeds, automatic slide-show creation, etc. I’ll play with it a bit more, but I’m probably already close to my 20mb free account upload limit. Flickr is a Yahoo site. It surprises the heck out of me that there is no Google flickr-alike. Given that they host videos and basically everyone’s email at this point, I figured it would be a no-brainer.

Anyhow, that’s all for now. Time to see if I’ve set this widget up to publish properly. Note: this is certainly no replacement for ecto, so I doubt I’ll hang on to it for long.

2 thoughts on “On Widgets

  1. Pingback: nigel kersten

  2. RapidMetaBlog Future Direction.So I’ve been getting a lot of emails asking for RapidMetaBlog to support other blogging APIs, and so I’m thinking about doing a v2.0 that supports blog servers that don’t do the MetaWeblog API. If you have any other suggestions for features or inter…

Leave a Reply

