Home, snow, yay

Yesterday’s travel was relatively uneventful. It almost started badly, given that my alarm didn’t go off (I forgot to turn it on) and my wake up call failed to materialize (because, you know, hotels are bad at that sort of thing or something). Luckily my internal stressometer triggered at precisely 4:23 am (alarm was set for 4:15, wake up call for 4:30), so I…got up.

My internal clock scares me sometimes. I don’t know how or why it works, but if I very sternly think to myself “you need to get up by 4:30am”, I do. It has never, in memory, failed me. Given how utterly crappy my concept of time is, I have no idea why this works. It really shouldn’t. It’s Unnatural.

Up, showered, packed, quick email check, then off to the front desk in the pitch darkness to check out. I was there at 5:45. My cab showed up at 6:01. Off to the airport. Airport at precisely 6:30. I overshot by a full hour. Good stuff (I don’t mind sitting in airports, I just hate the process between going through the door to getting to the gate). Off and away, Vancouver, land, get stuff, go through customs, drop stuff off again, walk a long way to get to the departures terminal, pay $16 for 2 hrs of wireless time, log in. Email, IRC, la la. Good stuff. This wireless gig is the way of the future. Plane, fly, sleep, read, sleep more, land.

Rob’s waiting at the luggage carousel to take me home. Yay!

Now I’m home. Slept for 10 very solid hours and feel almost human again. Rob made omelettes for breakfast, and life is good.

Oh, it snowed while I was away. It’s also snowing now. No cherry blossoms here for a while, alas. Also, no ducks. Just kitties 🙂

2 thoughts on “Home, snow, yay

  1. you should read Mind Hacks. Surprisingly, there doesn’t seem to be an entry for the “Internal Alarm Clock”, but it’s something I’ve done often. In fact, during university, I never used an alarm clock at all. Of course, it’s easier if all your classes start after noon…

  2. you should read Mind Hacks. Surprisingly, there doesn’t seem to be an entry for the “Internal Alarm Clock”, but it’s something I’ve done often. In fact, during university, I never used an alarm clock at all. Of course, it’s easier if all your classes start after noon…

Leave a Reply

