Back home tomorrow

Home again, home again, jiggedy jig. Not home yet, but have arranged for a 4:30am wake-up call and a 6:00am taxi to the airport. I figure being early to the airport is better than late, so I tend to overshoot. I should get there around 6:45am, for an 8:30am international departure. Should be good.

Travel tends to stress me out. I don’t mind being other places (although I do miss my boyfriend and kitties), but the process of traveling always makes me a little edgy. I just don’t like airports, mostly. For the most part I find them to be poorly designed, and bad design (particularly in situations where there are tight deadlines and overwrought processes) just annoys me.

For example, when I got to the Ottawa airport to come out here last weekend I was a little tired, clearly undercaffeinated, and carrying slightly more luggage than I could comfortably manouever on my own. The result? First, I got into the wrong check in line. Then I ended up filling out two forms that I didn’t need. Then I figured out that I was in the wrong line, and went and found the right line. The right line was much, much longer than the wrong line, and was full of people going on vacation with ridiculous amounts of luggage (usually including skis). Cranky, undercaffeinated families with cranky kids in a cranky situation. Someone dropped (and shattered) a glass bottle of orange juice. Good work. I got to manouever my stuff around a sticky puddle full of broken glass. Yay.

After check-in, things simplified a great deal because I basically sprinted to beat several overladen caravans of people heading towards the security gate. Woo. I’ve long since masterd the art of having nothing metal on my person, so never have problems with the metal detectors. Score. One quick bag check (keys), and I was on my way. In spite of pre-planning, I got to my gate only a few dozen minutes before boarding. That’s cutting things a little close for me, so I’m overshooting tomorrow.

So, there. A little story about me and airports. I’m looking forward to being home.

In other news, it’s been an interesting week. I’ve discussed a lot of ideas about a lot of things with a lot of people, and I think there’s a good foundation in place (at least idea-wise) for getting the project up and running in a minimal amount of time. As always, consensus building is going to be the most challenging part, but that’s pretty much how it always is for these sorts of things. We’ll see how that goes.

Leave a Reply

