On Grocery Lists

Earlier today I did some grocery shopping. This is something I do 3-4 times every week, since the grocery store is right over –> there, and it’s easier for me to go more-or-less daily than it is to do one big trip every week or so. The flexibility of this is great, because I can decide on what to make for dinner/lunch/whatever and then just walk over and get the stuff. No pre-planning headaches here!

My brain is such, however, that I am wholly incapable of remembering what I want to get at the store without a list. If I don’t write it down, I will forget it. This is something I’ve just learned to live with over the years, and I just always make a list before I head out. Seriously. If it’s not on the list, I’ll forget it.

Today’s (first) grocery list looked like this:

  • 3 lb chuck eye roast
  • carrots
  • celery
  • lg white onion
  • beef broth
  • chicken broth
  • thyme
  • ketchup

The first attempt was semi-unsuccessful. I got everything at the Loeb, except they didn’t have any chuck roast. I wandered over to the Glebe Meat Market to get this, but it was (shock and surprise) closed. Woe. My plans for pot roast were for naught!

Back home, I quickly revamped the list and headed out again, this time for brisket.

  • 3 lb beef brisket (point cut)
  • yellow onions
  • tomato paste
  • garlic
  • clamato juice
  • limes

As we speak, I have 3 lbs of brisket braising in the oven in a hearty broth of onions, garlic, beef and chicken stock, and some beer. It should be done in a few hours or so (longer is better here), and I’ll be serving it sliced over broad egg noodles with a bottle of Italian cabernet sauvignon. Yum!

All this just to post a funny little link I just found: grocerylists.org.

We’ll have potroast sometime when I can get a proper hunk of boneless chuck.

Update: the beef brisket is awesome. Rich beefy oniony sauce, and fork-tender beef. 3lbs is enough to feed the two of us at least 4 times. Very yummy.

Leave a Reply

