Recipe Software, Update + Minor Rant

For the record, Connoisseur 1.0 is a piece of crap. Our internet is out (due to Bell which is also a piece of crap, but I can’t go download a new shareware phone company so I have to put up with their shit) so I was going to spend part of the evening entering recipes into the little appy and use it to generate out some HTML that I could then post on my INTARNET (you’re soaking in it).

Great idea, nice relaxing way to spend part of an evening while the pasta sauce simmered and I drank a Mike’s and unwound from an otherwise annoying day. Gathered my cookbooks together, started with the Pork Noodle recipe I printed out from the INTARWEB the other day, and began.

I got three clicks in and hit my first snag. Hrm. The tab key doesn’t do what you want it to do, so you have to actually *click* on each little box for each ingredient then move your hand back to the keyboard to type. Each ingredient has four things to enter, requiring mouse-keyboard hand movement four times per ingredient. This recipe has, roughly, twenty ingredients. Excuse me while I put this stick in my eye.

I decided to persevere long enough to get this one recipe entered. It was not to be so. During the arduous process of entering the ingredient list, I made the mistake of trying to add a new type of measurement to the measurements field (“clove(s)” as in “cloves of garlic”). This managed to trigger a series of really stupid UI problems that just aren’t worth living through.

Cmd-Q to Quit and dragged that baby to the trash. Time to begin the search anew.

It’s starting to dawn on me that I might have to build my own recipe management application. I do web junk for a living, see, and I want my recipe collection accessible online via the INTARWEB, so…really…rolling my own web-app would probably be the smart thing to do (this is one of the few places where I would say that “rolling my own” is a good idea — I am a big proponent of not reinventing the wheel, but all these wheels actually suck). There’s just some stuff I don’t know how to do right now (although the main problem just got designed out entirely in my head just now while I was typing that), so…we’ll see.

Diving back in to PHP wouldn’t hurt, really.

10 thoughts on “Recipe Software, Update + Minor Rant

  1. heh. its amazing how your rant focuses 100% on the task at hand, and 0% on the software. im just imagining how that experience would have been on a windows PC…. (install, reboot, curse, uninstall, reboot, curse, uninstall, curse)

    want another mind blower? try emailing the person who wrote that software. mac developers (used to people actually PAYING for their software) are notorious for fixing user complaints quickly.

    from the machines to the users the mac experience is certainly a unique one.

  2. heh. its amazing how your rant focuses 100% on the task at hand, and 0% on the software. im just imagining how that experience would have been on a windows PC…. (install, reboot, curse, uninstall, reboot, curse, uninstall, curse)want another mind blower? try emailing the person who wrote that software. mac developers (used to people actually PAYING for their software) are notorious for fixing user complaints quickly.from the machines to the users the mac experience is certainly a unique one.

  3. If the problems had been minor quibbles rather than deeply systemic BS, I would happily consider talking to the developer. I know how shareware, freeware, and free software works, and I’ve often discussed things with developers of (primarly) Open Source software (who, oddly, aren’t used to people paying for the software, but are extremely open to ideas, suggestions, and even, heaven forfend, patches).

    But the problems were encountered _immediately_ and were _big_, which is a pretty solid indication that it’s not worth my time to worry about.

    PS: I was ranting about the task at hand, yes, but only about how the tool was getting in the way of me actually accomplishing the task. And the tool is the software, which means I really was actually ranting about the software. 😉

  4. If the problems had been minor quibbles rather than deeply systemic BS, I would happily consider talking to the developer. I know how shareware, freeware, and free software works, and I’ve often discussed things with developers of (primarly) Open Source software (who, oddly, aren’t used to people paying for the software, but are extremely open to ideas, suggestions, and even, heaven forfend, patches).But the problems were encountered _immediately_ and were _big_, which is a pretty solid indication that it’s not worth my time to worry about.PS: I was ranting about the task at hand, yes, but only about how the tool was getting in the way of me actually accomplishing the task. And the tool is the software, which means I really was actually ranting about the software. 😉

  5. Hi dria,

    I’m one of the developers of Connoisseur. I’m sorry to hear about your less than favourable experience with it.

    We have a new version out (1.0.2), and one of the enhancements/bug fixes is being able to tab between the columns in the ingredients table. I myself found this quite annoying, but hadn’t found a solution until now. It’s also *much* faster. If you’re interested, the full changelog is here.

    What UI problems were you having when adding the measurements? Right now, if you add a unit, you then have to go back and select the newly entered unit in the edit recipe screen. (Cumbersome, I know.) In the next release, we plan to streamline this process, so that a new measurement unit is automatically selected.

    If you have any other gripes about the app, I’d be happy to hear them, as we want to make Connoisseur the best out there (and it still has a long way to go).

    Thanks,

    Jeremy.

  6. Hi dria,I’m one of the developers of Connoisseur. I’m sorry to hear about your less than favourable experience with it.We have a new version out (1.0.2), and one of the enhancements/bug fixes is being able to tab between the columns in the ingredients table. I myself found this quite annoying, but hadn’t found a solution until now. It’s also *much* faster. If you’re interested, the full changelog is here.What UI problems were you having when adding the measurements? Right now, if you add a unit, you then have to go back and select the newly entered unit in the edit recipe screen. (Cumbersome, I know.) In the next release, we plan to streamline this process, so that a new measurement unit is automatically selected.If you have any other gripes about the app, I’d be happy to hear them, as we want to make Connoisseur the best out there (and it still has a long way to go).Thanks,Jeremy.

  7. I’m not quite sure how you found this weblog, but hello Jeremy. I’ll be sure to check out the new version of Connoisseur sometime. The column-tabbing thing isn’t the only issue I have with the application, but it was definitely the thing that killed it for me on the first try.

  8. I’m not quite sure how you found this weblog, but hello Jeremy. I’ll be sure to check out the new version of Connoisseur sometime. The column-tabbing thing isn’t the only issue I have with the application, but it was definitely the thing that killed it for me on the first try.

  9. I found it via Technorati. 🙂

    Yep, I can understand that. If you have any other gripes (no matter how small!), it’d really help us out if you send feedback email. That way, we can fix the issue.

    Thanks!

    Jeremy.

  10. I found it via Technorati. :)Yep, I can understand that. If you have any other gripes (no matter how small!), it’d really help us out if you send feedback email. That way, we can fix the issue.Thanks!Jeremy.

Leave a Reply

